In Association With
Print Media Patners

SIAT 2013 Organizing Committee is very much thankful to all the Delegates, Authors, Co-Authors Keynote Speakers, Sponsors, Exhibitors & Participants for the overwhelming response towards SIAT 2013.

Symposium on International Automotive Technology (SIAT) organized by ARAI biennially, was a benchmark event held at ARAI from 9th to 12th January 2013. SIAT serves as an important forum for presenting the achievements and innovative strengths of the automotive industry.

The theme of SIAT'13 was "Towards Safer, Cleaner & Quieter World…"

Use of Innovative & entertaining Laser show, Art Gallery, Interactive Flower bed, advanced electronic signage systems and e-gadgets like RFID, 3D pavilion, information kiosk, digital signage system, SMS alert, LED video wall, Advertisement & running film through LCD displays etc. for various services and applications transformed SIAT 2013 into a unique event.

Inaugural Session:

"SIAT 2013" was inaugurated on 9th January 2013. The chief guest for the inaugural function was Mr. Praful Patel, Hon'ble Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises, Govt. of India. Guest of honour was Mrs. Supriya Sule, Hon'ble Member of Parliament.

The other dignitaries present on the dais were Mr. Anant Talaulicar, Ex-President of ARAI and Chairman & Managing Director of Cummins India, Mr. M Murli Iyer Member of SAEINDIA MC, representing SAE International, Mr. Shrikant. R. Marathe, Chairman SIAT 2013 Advisory Committee & Director – ARAI and Mr. N B Dhande, Convenor SIAT 2013.

A specially made curtain raiser Theme film screening was done at the start which set the tone of the Symposium.

In view of the pre-engagement and hence the non availability , video screening of addresses of the Chief guest Mr. Praful Patel, Hon'ble Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises, Govt. of India & Dr. David Schutt, Chief Executive Officer, SAE International USA was done.

Papers, Keynote papers and Delegates:

During the symposium total 183 technical papers were presented including 35 Keynote Papers in 38 sessions. More than 50 papers were presented by international experts. The deliberations were focused on the key areas such as, Vehicle & Structural Dynamics, Automobile Air- Conditioning & HVAC, Automotive Safety, Alternate Fuels, Emissions, NVH (Noise Vibrations and Harshness), Materials & Manufacturing, Global regulations, CAE & CFD Methodology, Automotive Electronics, Hybrid & Electric Vehicles, Power train.

SIAT 2013 was attended by about 1500 delegates from all across the globe representation from 25 countries.


A SIAT 2013 proceeding DVD was published during Inaugural Function of SIAT along with Technical Reference Bulletin which contain 31 articles on different topics and case studies presented by experts in the respective field.

Technology Theater:

Technology Theater comprising 12 sessions was exclusively organized on 12th January, 2013 and was held enabling informative interactions & discussions with the global subject experts. These include technical presentations by global experts on application based case studies on different key topics.

SIAT Expo-2013:

The grand exposition SIAT EXPO 2013 was open to automotive personnel and interested public and provided a great opportunity to share and disseminate information and conduct business. About 120 exhibitors, occupying 201 stalls from all across the globe participated in the SIAT Expo. About 5000 visitors visited SIAT EXPO 2013.

BRICS Panel Discussion:

A special BRICS Panel Discussion was organized on 11th January before the Valedictory session on the topic "Opportunities and challenges ahead of the BRICS Countries in the Global Automotive Scenario and the technology roadmap Towards Safer, Cleaner & Quitter World". The high level officials/technocrats representing the BRICS countries (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) participated in the discussion.

Valedictory Session:

The SIAT 2013 mega event concluded with the Valedictory function chaired by Chief Guest Mr. A K Upadhyay, Secretary, Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, Govt. of India. The Guests of honour Mr. Sanjay Bandopadhyaya, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Raod Transport & Highways, Govt. of India, Mr. Ambuj Sharma, Joint Secretary of Ministry of Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises and Mr. Nitin Gokarn, CEO & Project Director, NATRiP graced the occasion. Mr. Shrikant. R. Marathe, Director – ARAI delivered the welcome speech on this occasion and the various awards were distributed at the hands of the chief Guest and Guest of Honours. The function was concluded with vote of thanks by Mr. N. B. Dhande, Convenor SIAT 2013.

SIAT 2013 Award Winners :

Technical Paper Awards
Place SAE Paper No. Paper Title Principal Author
First 2013-26-0064 Vision Based Traffic Measuring System Ms Pallavi Kharade et al. KPIT Cummins Infosystems Ltd., India
Second 2013-26-0094 Seat Squeak Measurement & Diagnosis Mr R. P. Senthil Kumar et al, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd., India
Third 2013-26-0009 Development of Three Cylinder CNG Engine for LCV Application Mr V. S. Midhun et al, Nissan Ashok Leyland Technologies Pvt Ltd, India
-- 2013-26-0142 Environmental Benefits of Vehicle Platooning. Mr Arturo Davila et al, Applus + IDIADA, Spain
-- 2013-26-0134 Strategies to meet CPCB Stage-II Emission Norms for Naturally Aspirated Diesel Genset Engines Mr P. G. Bhat et al, ARAI, India
-- 2013-26-0056 VWT-SCR Catalyst to meet BS-IV Emission Standards and Beyond Mr Vijay S. Narkhede et al, Sud Chemie India Pvt Ltd, India


Place Title Authors
First Mathematical Model for Side View Swing Geometry of Three-Wheeled Vehicle Siddhant Kapoor, Manipal Institute of Technology
Second Automotive NVH Source & Remedies", Sanskar R. Bapat & Suyog C. Bhosale PES Modern College of Engineering
Third NIL  
First Hybrid Composite leaf Spring for a Multi-Utility Vehicle Prathamesh Bilgunde & Saurabh Bhapkar , Maharashtra Institute of Technology
Second Intelligent Sensors for Three Wheelers Khitij Kumar & R. Dhiyaneswar , VIT University
Third Drowsy Driver Detection System S. A. Yokesh Kumar & G. Karthik, Bannari Amman Institute of technology
First Electronic Automotive Emission Reduction System Diptish Saha & Goutam Datta , Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT)
Second Comparative Experimental Study on Performance & Emission Characteristics of Catalyst activated Combustion in Gasoline Engine B. Viveik & M. Sathis Kumaran, Institute of Road and Transport Technology
Third Experimental Design for Fractioned Bio-Diesel with Improved Performance P. Vishnu & A. Ashok Kumar, Amrita School of Engineering

Place Stall No Organization Name
First 135-138 Bosch Limited
Second 194-196 FEV India Pvt. Ltd
Third 21-22 KPIT Cummins Info Systems Ltd

Certificate of Merit – Stall No. 203 "The Automotive Research Association of India" (ARAI) privilege

Place Stall No Authors
First Development of Revolvo Hybrid System Mr Chinmay Pandit & Team, KPIT Cummins
Second Start/Stop Micro Hybrid Technology Mr Rajan Wadhera & Team, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd
Third Development of Axle Lifting Mechanism Dr Sahaya Grinspan, Ashok Leyland Limited

 Announcement of next SIAT :

SIAT 2015 will be held from 21st – 24th January 2015

  Copyright © SIAT 2013. All rights reserved. Crafted & Cared by